» Anti-Flag » Biografie Anti-Flag

Biografie Anti-Flag


Making their debut at a local Pittsburgh radio station in 1993, Anti-Flag got together for the sake of responding to their disgust of religion, nationalism and fascism. Justin Sane (vocals/guitar), Andy Flag (bass/vocals) and Pat Thetic (drums) bopped around their hometown much to the dismay of skinheads while recruiting a following who proudly wore torn-up upside-down flags as patches. In 1997 after releasing a handful of singles, opening for their idols the UK Subs, the Exploited and the Circle Jerks and a brief tour of the East Coast -- which lead to the departure of Andy Flag -- Die For Your Government was released. 20,000 copies, four bassists and four North American tours later, Anti-Flag gained their reputation of recapturing the old-school ethics of punk: fast, loud, obnoxious, and anti-everything that ends with an "ism." Now a four piece, they released A New Kind of Army in 1999 on Go Kart Records, hoping not only to push their beliefs to a wider audience, but more importantly, just to play out around the world while flipping two fingers in the air to everyone they're against. Their System Doesn't Work for You followed in mid-2000. ~ Mike DaRonco, All Music Guide

Comentarii Anti-Flag